Event Video

Event Images

On Wednesday, March 15th, Irish America magazine hosted the 2017 Irish America Hall of Fame awards luncheon.

The distinguished 2017 Hall of Fame inductees were Nobel laureate Dr. William C. Campbell; CEO of Northwell Health Michael Dowling; women’s rights leader Sister Tesa Fitzgerald; labor leader Terry O’Sullivan, general president of the Laborers’ International Union of North America; and Kevin White, athletic director at Duke University. For more information on the honorees, click here.

Dr. James Watson, who received the Nobel Prize in Medicine for his work on discovering the structure of DNA, was given the Spirit of Ireland Award.

For complete coverage of the event, including highlights from the honorees’ speeches, click here.

Founded in 2010 in celebration of Irish America magazine’s 25th anniversary, the Irish America Hall of Fame honors the extraordinary achievements of Irish-American leaders, from their significant accomplishments and contributions to American society to the personal commitment to safeguarding their Irish heritage and the betterment of Ireland.

The Irish America Hall of Fame is housed at the Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience in New Ross, Co. Wexford. For more information on the Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience, please visit our archives to see a special feature printed in Irish America magazine.